back to warhammer – Lizardmen characters, champions and Kroxigors

While I am waiting for my reinforcements for my micro armour to arrive, I wanted to paint something rather old, or just something I didn’t play for a long time now. Games Workshops Warhammer Fantasy 8th edition Lizardmen.

I always loved the aztec/mayan themed lizardmen army and of course the fact that you can field dinosaurs riding other dinosaurs into battle. I got this 2000p army cheap on ebay, so I had to rescue a lot of the miniatures, since many of them were in a really bad condition.

I didn’t want to go with the studio paint scheme, so I used some different colours for the shields. For the skin and scales I went with a purple – yellow contrast. I used Citadel Temple Guard Blue, Skink Blue and Drakenhof Nightshade for the skin, and VGC Hexed Lichan with some beige for the highlighting of the scales. The yellow scales and shields are painted with Citadel Yriel Yellow highlighted with VMC Ice Yellow.

For the weapons I used dark grey with some highlights, shaded with Army Painter Dark Tone. Since the scales and shields are already really brightly coloured, I used Gunmetal shaded with Citadel Seraphim Sepia for the metals.

 

The first miniatures I finished (just some basing has still to be done after varnishing) are a Skink Priest, and a Skink Chief that I will use as a normal champion, my first Scar Veteran and my Reverend Guardian from the Temple Guard. The second Scar Veteran on Cold One is still wip.

What I still have to do are 28 skinks, 12 Sauri, 19 Temple Guards, 1 Salamander Hunting Pack, 5 Cold One Riders and a Slann Mage Priest. I hopefully get them all done by the end of the year, at least that’s my deadline.

Cheers

Leave a Reply

