Bolt Action – building a british army

Bolt Action_ british army_group

Bolt Action is a game which I laid my eyes upon for severel years now, but always resisted to start playing it. Until now. Our local gaming community recently came to the conclusion that we should give it a try.

Since I am a gamer who always emphasizes the design and look of the miniatures, and not the competetive gaming value, I started with a british army. At first Universal Carriers. I love them and fielded them alot back in the days when I played with british “Flames of War” forces. Secondly Highlanders. I like kilts and bagpipes, so there was really no question for me in fielding an highland army.

At first I thougt about a unit I could field. Reading through some old FoW books, I found a unit roster of the 51st Highland Division and finally chose the 5th Black Watch. Next step was buying some stuff from Warlord Games giving me a 500p starter army, the commando character blister and decals for the 51st Highland Division.

For the seargeant I used the kilt supplied within the commando blister and parts from the plastic infantry. The 2nd Lieutenant is the “Brigadier Peter Young” miniature. I just removed the rifle and replaced it with a sten gun from the plastic infantry sprue, and modeled a umbrella around his stick. I use the bagpiper “Bill Millin” as my medic, since Bolt Action has no rules for bagpipes. The carrier got some stowage parts and weapons from the plastic infantry sprue too. I changed the heads from the crew with those from the plastic infantry since they look much nicer.

After building and priming everything, I decided to start with the commanding miniatures and the carrier.

The infantry and stowage parts on the carrier were painted using Army Painter Quickshade (exept for the Kilt). Before adding the matt varnish, I applied the decals indicating them as guys from 5th Black Watch (logo of the 51st division, 2 red stripes for the 153 Brigade and the patch of the Black Watch). The only guy who didn’t got Black Watch patches is my free artillery observer. I think he comes from the artillery section and just accompanies the guys, supporting them if necessary.

I will finish the bases by the time the whole starter army is finished. Left to do are one 10 man squad, two 5 man squads, a light mortar team, and a MMG team.

cheers

Leave a Reply

